grain action

28/01/2013 10:14

so today was supposed to be good weather,but wtf its raining, theres been a week of snow, now its warming up. Melt everywhere, bloody cold wind and random showers. I just get to ramshaw to meet dom at lower> i get hit by a bad ass snow shower as i run down, just tofind out its wet anyway.  Now we debate weather to go to the wall or head to roaches where dave and andi r sheltering in the hut. Dom sets of and i cant resist but to go to roaches to check the conditions.

I didnt regret it, Upper tier was superb and everyone must of thought climbing was completly off the cards, as i has the place to myself, i do my usual circuit, mainly traverses to keep the stamina up, but it is cold and avoiding the wind is the subject of the day. Now at least ive got my fix.

I head down to against the grain where andi has set up a rope. I got a chance to try it now, never done it before ont his route and im psyched. i pull on and takes me afew goes to figure a reasonable sequence, just the last move that caught me out, but by this time my fingertips were there but i couldnt feel them, but i know for sure that this is exactly my style of climbing thin, and fingery. relying on just as much finger clamping as balance. about 7b/+ sequence i reckon. As font is only a few weeks away, im gonna leave it and concentrate on bouldering, but ive definatly got this climb earmarked for when i return to the ropes.

watch this space...........